On-ramp USDC is either minted by its issuer or bought on the market. Circle mints new USDC when an approved institution deposits dollars, and a ramp can also buy existing USDC from exchanges, market makers and other holders. The coin is identical either way. The source shapes the price a ramp can quote and the size it can fill.
On the buyer's side, reais go in over Pix (Brazil's instant payment system, run by the Central Bank), and USDC shows up in a wallet. This post covers the path behind that quote: who can mint, who sells the rest and why the two prices stay together. The steps of the deposit itself are in what a stablecoin on-ramp is. If USDC is new, start with what USDC is. Where the on-ramp sits in a full fiat-to-fiat payment is in the stablecoin sandwich.
How new USDC gets created
Circle mints USDC when an eligible customer deposits dollars, and burns it when that customer redeems it for dollars. This is the primary market, the only path that adds net new USDC to supply.
Access is narrow. Circle Mint is available, in Circle's words, "in specific regions to eligible businesses and institutions," and applicants complete a review that includes background checks, sanctions screening and KYC (know your customer, the verification of an individual) checks. Its FAQ says processing "can take a few weeks or more." A Federal Reserve note makes the same point in plain terms: only direct customers of Circle, cleared through an application process, can use the primary market, and those customers tend to be exchanges, fintech companies and institutional traders.
The dollars behind the coins sit in reserves. Per Circle's transparency page, the majority is held in the Circle Reserve Fund, an SEC-registered money market fund, and holdings are disclosed weekly. A Big Four accounting firm gives monthly assurance that reserves exceed the USDC in circulation, and Circle states that USDC is always redeemable one to one for US dollars.
Circle is an issuer compliant with the GENIUS Act of 2025 (Public Law 119-27). Lumx has a mint account of its own with Circle, and it also gets USDC through BTG, our strategic partner and investor, for direct minting. The sections below cover where the rest of the supply comes from.
Where the rest of the USDC comes from
Everyone outside Circle's customer list buys USDC that already exists. That is the secondary market: centralized exchanges, trading pools on a blockchain, over-the-counter desks and market makers that hold inventory in both dollars and the local currency.
The secondary market sets the daily price. The Federal Reserve note says secondary markets "provide the default source of pricing data for market observers." A ramp that is not itself a Circle customer draws from here, or from a partner that is. Market makers are the part a payments buyer meets indirectly, because their quote becomes the rate on your quote.
For a BRL on-ramp the scarce part is rarely the USDC. It is the reais on the other side of the trade, which only a participant operating in Brazil can hold and deliver.
Lumx converts against its own liquidity and institutional counterparties only, among them BTG Pactual. We do not take liquidity from just anyone, and we do not publish a split between the two.
Which source does a ramp use, and when?
A ramp chooses by what the transaction needs: its size, the currency on the other side and how much risk it will take on one source. A large institution with a Circle account can mint at par. Everyone else buys what already exists. This post does not state Circle's current mint hours.
The three ways a ramp ends up holding USDC for your deposit
Question | Mint through Circle | Buy on the market | Buy from institutional counterparties |
Who can use it | Eligible businesses and institutions that pass Circle's review | Anyone with an exchange account, a wallet or a ramp | A provider with onboarded counterparties |
Price of the USDC | One dollar in, one USDC out | Floats around one dollar, usually very close | Negotiated, usually as a quote for a stated size |
Hours | Set by Circle's own operating terms, not stated here | Exchanges and pools price at any hour | Set by the counterparty |
Size | Built for institutional tickets | From small orders to large blocks | Sized per request |
What can fail | A delay on the dollar leg | Thin books move the price | Counterparty concentration |
Dependence on a single source is the risk to ask about: a ramp that buys from one market maker depends on that maker showing up. Lumx has its own Circle mint account, direct minting through BTG, and converts against its own liquidity and institutional counterparties only. It does not publish a split between them. The API exposes a floating or a locked rate and does not expose the source.
How arbitrage keeps the two prices together
When the market price of USDC drifts from one dollar, the firms with access to both sides trade the gap away. If USDC trades below one dollar, a direct customer buys it on the market and redeems it with Circle at par. If it trades above, they mint at par and sell on the market. The Federal Reserve note describes direct customers profiting from "differences between the primary exchange rate and the exchange rate on secondary markets," which pushes the price back toward one dollar.
The mechanism works only while the primary market is open. On Saturday, March 11, 2023 it was closed, so the secondary market set the price. Circle announced, as the Federal Reserve note quotes it, that USDC's "issuance and redemption is constrained by the working hours of the U.S. banking system" and that operations would resume when banks opened on Monday morning. Part of the reserves was stuck at a failed US bank. The Federal Reserve note records USDC reaching lows of under 90 cents and recovering over about three days.
For a payments team the point is narrow: that weekend the secondary market set the price because the primary one could not clear. A ramp that quotes firm rates either absorbs a gap like that or widens its spread until markets settle. It is a 2023 episode, not a statement about how minting runs today.
On Lumx, a locked rate holds for 30 seconds, 1 minute or 5 minutes. The 30-second lock has no fee, and the longer locks carry a fee that covers volatility risk. A floating rate is a live reference with no lock, and the rate applied at execution can vary slightly. If a lock expires before the transaction is submitted, the rate id stops working and you request a new one.
The fiat rail usually sets the clock
Whichever source the ramp uses, the coin is rarely what makes an on-ramp slow. The customer's payment rail is. A USDC mint or a market purchase is a back-office step. The deposit that triggers it arrives on a bank rail with its own hours.
Fiat deposit rails that fund an on-ramp, per the Lumx cut-off page (processing targets, not contractual guarantees)
Currency | Rail | Cut-off | Settlement | Operating days |
BRL | Pix | None | Instant | 24/7/365 |
MXN | SPEI | None | Instant | 24/7/365 |
USD | ACH (credit only) | 2:00 PM ET | 1 to 2 business days | US business days |
USD | FEDWIRE | 3:00 PM ET | Same business day, typically within hours | US business days |
USD | SWIFT | 3:00 PM ET | 1 to 5 business days | Intermediary bank hours |
On a Pix deposit, then, the bank leg runs at any hour, and the question is whether the ramp has USDC and a price ready at that hour. On an ACH deposit the bank leg is the long pole, and the source of the USDC adds almost nothing to the wait.
On Lumx a webhook fires on each on-ramp state. If a deposit lands after the on-ramp has expired, the funds go back to the sender on the same rail. A floating on-ramp expires after one day on Pix and on SPEI (Mexico's interbank transfer system, run by Banxico) and after seven days on other rails. A locked on-ramp expires with its quote.
What a BRL on-ramp adds on top of the USDC source
Whatever the source, a BRL on-ramp adds a conversion between reais and the dollar-pegged coin. The layers are covered in how stablecoin payout pricing works, and BRL to USDC for corporate treasury shows the treasury view. On Lumx, the exchange-rate response returns a Lumx fee and a partner fee, and a locked quote includes the partner fee. It also returns a base and a final rate, so the integrator can see what sits between them, and the source of the USDC is not one of the fields. The current rate for each pair is on BRL to USDC and MXN to USDC.
Does it matter to you where a ramp's USDC comes from?
Mostly no. A USDC minted this morning and one traded a thousand times are the same token on the same network, and the buyer cannot tell them apart in the wallet. Who may redeem directly with Circle is a matter for Circle's USDC terms, which this post does not summarize. What the source changes is what the ramp can promise, so the useful questions are about the quote: can you lock it, does it hold at your size, and is the fee itemized.
<!-- OPERATOR PARAGRAPH --> I would not ask a ramp where its USDC was minted. I would ask who is on the other side of the trade at 2 a.m. on a Saturday, how long the quote holds, and whether the quote shows the rate and the fee as separate lines. A provider that says "we mint directly", Lumx included, has told you about its inventory, not about your price, and I treat mint access as a tiebreaker in a vendor review, not as the headline.
When asking where the USDC comes from is the wrong question
For a business that only needs to turn reais into dollars, the source is a detail the provider owns. It becomes the right question in three cases.
You want a Circle Mint account of your own. If you are an exchange, a bank or a large treasury, minting directly is your own onboarding, and the reported timeline is weeks, not days.
Counterparty concentration matters to your risk team. A single market maker behind every quote is a dependency, and the diligence question is who delivers the USDC and the local currency at settlement.
You are looking at USDT, not USDC. The Federal Reserve note describes the primary market for USDT as more restrictive than USDC's, citing a reported minimum of 100,000 dollars per mint. The sourcing story differs by issuer, so a USDC answer does not carry over.
How sourcing shows up on a Lumx Pix on-ramp
Lumx is stablecoin payments infrastructure for businesses that move money between Latin America and the rest of the world: one API to collect, hold, convert, and pay out in BRL, MXN, COP, USD, EUR, and GBP or in USDC and USDT, over local rails such as PIX, SPEI, PSE, Bre-B, ACH, FEDWIRE, SEPA, and Faster Payments, with SWIFT and on-behalf-of payments and collections (POBO and COBO) in USD, EUR, and GBP, plus named virtual accounts, custodial wallets, and KYB/KYC built in.
On a Pix on-ramp, Lumx converts the matching BRL and credits the customer's custodial wallet. The USDC can be held on Ethereum, Polygon or Base, and on Stellar for BRL on-ramps (as of November 2026, per the coverage page in the docs). The customer sees a BRL deposit and a USDC balance. Sourcing stays behind the quote: Lumx has its own Circle mint account and direct minting through BTG, converts against its own liquidity and institutional counterparties only, and the integration reads a floating or a locked rate. The steps of the deposit are in what a stablecoin on-ramp is.
For a business whose own customers pay it by Pix, the deposit arrives on a named virtual account, so the payer's identity comes with the credit, and an autoconversion rule can turn each deposit into stablecoin on arrival, at the market rate. A locked quote is a per-transaction choice, and autoconversion always converts at market. Lumx is also in the Circle Alliance Program. The named virtual accounts product page covers the account side and the coverage page lists the currencies and rails by country.
Methodology and sources
Circle Mint eligibility, the background-check review and the "few weeks or more" processing time come from the Circle Mint page, read on November 1, 2026. Reserve composition, weekly disclosure, monthly assurance and the one-to-one redemption statement come from Circle's transparency page, read the same day. The primary and secondary market description, the March 11, 2023 announcement, the under-90-cent low and the USDT mint minimum come from the Federal Reserve FEDS Note on primary and secondary markets for stablecoins, February 23, 2024, read the same day. The USDT minimum is a figure the note attributes to a 2022 report. Circle's terms for minimums and redemption timing were not on the pages read, so this post states none.
Circle's March 11, 2023 statement is quoted as the Federal Reserve note reports it. Lumx product facts come from docs.lumx.io pages read on November 1, 2026 (transactions, exchange rates, wallets, cut-offs, webhooks, autoconversion rules and coverage). Circle's GENIUS Act status is linked to Public Law 119-27.
Verified on November 1, 2026. Operational context, not legal, tax, or investment advice.
Cover photo: Khara Woods on Unsplash.
Where does on-ramp USDC come from?
From one of two places: Circle mints it for an approved institution, or the ramp buys existing USDC from exchanges, market makers and other holders. The coin is the same either way. On Lumx, the API returns a floating or a locked rate and does not expose the source. Lumx has its own Circle mint account and direct minting through BTG, and converts against its own liquidity and institutional counterparties only.
Can a business mint USDC directly with Circle?
Eligible businesses and institutions can, after a review that includes background checks, KYC checks and sanctions screening. Circle says processing can take a few weeks or more, and that Circle Mint is available in specific regions. Most companies get USDC through a ramp or a payment provider that already has access. With Lumx, a customer does not need its own Circle account to on-ramp: the API takes the rail, the amount and the target stablecoin and credits the customer's custodial wallet.
Is minted USDC different from USDC bought on the market?
No. A USDC coin on a given network is the same token whether it was minted this morning or has changed hands many times. Only the path differs: minting happens at par for approved customers, and market prices can drift slightly around one dollar. A Lumx on-ramp credits USDC to the customer's custodial wallet, and the balance is the same USDC either way.
What happens to an on-ramp when USDC is quoted below one dollar?
The market price moves first when the primary market cannot absorb the gap. In March 2023, when Circle said issuance and redemption were constrained by US banking hours and part of its reserves was stuck at a failed US bank, USDC fell below 90 cents and recovered over about three days, per the Federal Reserve. A ramp with firm quotes absorbs that gap or widens its spread. On Lumx a locked rate holds for 30 seconds, 1 minute or 5 minutes, and an expired lock has to be replaced with a new request.
What does a BRL on-ramp add on top of the USDC source?
A conversion between reais and USDC, which each provider prices its own way. On Lumx, the exchange-rate response returns a Lumx fee and a partner fee, and a locked quote includes the partner fee. The base and final rates come back with it, so the cost is visible before the deposit.





